Print Page   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Annual Recognition Awards
Share |

Each year, ACEC Indiana recognizes the leaders of the engineering community by presenting an Annual Recognition Awards program. These awards presented at this event can include the following:

  • Consulting Engineer of the Year Award – Honors an ACEC Indiana member who is not a current officer, but has made a significant contribution to the field of consulting engineering in Indiana. Click here to view all winners
  • President’s Award - Established in 1991 to pay special recognition to an individual for his/her engineering accomplishments over the years. Click here to view all winners
  • Public Service Award - Honors an individual affiliated with a university, state or local government who is not an ACEC Indiana member, but has made an outstanding contribution to the practice of engineering. Click here to view all winners
  • Sagamore of ACEC Indiana Award - Established in 1998 to honor a person who has helped elevate the engineering profession, created goodwill towards ACEC Indiana or the profession, or advanced the cause of engineers or engineering issues and who is not a practicing engineer or not in public service. Click here to view all winners
  • Virgil “Gus” Grissom Award - Established in 2005 to honor a person who is not an ACEC member but has supported and assisted in the Professional Engineering Industry in moving into a new frontier. Click here to view all winners
  • Young Engineer of the Year-  Established in 2016 to acknowledge an engaged ACEC Indiana member 35 and younger for their outstanding talents, skills and abilities the next generation of engineering leaders.

LEFT TO RIGHT: Vicki Kitchin, recipient of the President's Award; Shelby Swango, ACEC Indiana Secretary; Chairman Ed Soliday, recipient of the Gus Grissom Award; Cheryl Cunningham, ACEC Indiana President; and Mike Obergfell, ACEC Indiana Vice President.

2017 Awards Winners:

Consulting Engineer of the Year: Scott Hornsby, PE

     Scott Hornsby, PE, GAI Consultants, was recognized as the 2017 Consulting Engineer of the Year.  As Hornsby ascended into the presidency, he saw a critical gap in ACEC’s advocacy efforts to help achieve more significant and lasting funding for our state highway and local road system. To complement BIC’s activity, under his leadership, ACEC established the Transportation Funding Committee. Through its legislative outreach, the effort was to show support to legislators to take action in the 2017 session, and not delay any longer.

     The results showed, with huge turnout by ACEC Indiana members at Road Funding days, calls and e-mails of support to get passage of the legislation, social media and special websites.  Without his vision, ACEC would still have been involved but not as organized or as effective in its resolution to  move this bill to the finish line.


President's Award: Vicki Kitchin

     Vickin Kitchin, Executive Director of Build Indiana Council, received the 2017 President’s Award for tirelessly leading the educational, coalition-building and governmental affairs efforts to reach state and federal legislators and the public at large about the value of a well-functioning highway and road system for the Crossroads of America.

     Kitchin kept the coalition on a dedicated path, marching towards the 2017 legislative session with a robust agenda to obtain $1.2 B in new funding for Indiana’s highways and roads. Working closely with Chairman Soliday and other legislative leaders, Kitchin and BIC’s lobbyists maneuvered legislation to its successful passage, marking an historic investment in surface transportation infrastructure for the state of Indiana.


Gus Grissom Award: Chairman Ed Soliday

     Ed Soliday, Chairman of the House Roads and Transportation Committee, received the Gus Grissom Award, which honors a legislator who has supported the engineering profession in moving to a new frontier.  Chairman Soliday remained focused on a “data driven” solution to Indiana’s transportation funding needs, leading the formation of the “Funding Indiana’s Roads For a Stronger Safer Tomorrow” Task Force. In 2016, he was the driver to creating a new “local road and bridge matching grant fund” called Community Crossings, and redirected 1.5 cents of the 7 cents of sales tax on gasoline.

     Through the culmination of his efforts started a decade ago, Chairman Soliday spearheaded the state highway and local road funding package in House Enrolled Act 1002 that will reach $1.2 billion by FY 2024.  Signed into law by Governor Holcomb in April, Chairman Soliday ushered through the largest infrastructure investment in Indiana’s history. 




Contact Us

55 Monument Circle
Suite 819
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: 317.637.3563
Fax: 317.637.9968

Mission statement

ACEC Indiana is a trade association representing the business interests of the consulting engineering profession and offers knowledge and services to enhance the quality of life for every citizen in Indiana.  Professional Consulting Engineers design roads and bridges, clean water and waste water systems, mechanical and electrical systems, redevelop brownfields and much more.

We Proudly support

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal